‘Mothers’…the ‘Invisible, Vilified Heroes of Humanity’

Standard
Mother and baby

Of all the possible titles assigned to people in society, I personally believe the most commendable is the title of ‘Mother’. I respect and admire women who pro-create, far more than I respect judges or doctors or academics or social workers or teachers, or anyone else for that matter. I firmly believe that there is no harder job than that of ‘bringing up’ a whole nother human! I knew from a very young age that I was without doubt, incapable of ever giving so much of myself to another. Yet it seems most mothers; whilst living the most selfless existence of all us ‘labelled ants’ in society, for one reason or another, are either vilified, criticised, and/or belittled. Or worse, simply invisible to all, whilst they bob along ‘doing what nature intended’. As if the lifetime care of another soul is natural, so therefore, automatically some sort of breeze!!!

Take this job description and then tell me how Mothers came to be viewed as anything less than bionic?

You must be available for duty for 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

You will inevitably invest every-one of your human emotions into your daily practice, as well as your mental and physical skills and resources.

No monetary payment will be made for your services.

No appraisals/supervision/praise or guidance will be given.

Very limited training will be available to begin, then all duties must be carried out correctly, without any guidance for a minimum of 16 years. And more likely, 40 or so years!

You may have to work a full 24 hours in any one day, and you will be expected to continue in this vein, for an unspecified number of days, dependent on the needs of the service.

You will not receive any breaks on any bank holidays at all. Including xmas day and new years eve.

For periods of incapacitation, you will be expected to fulfil all your usual tasks, and cover will not available.

Your reaction time to any impending crisis must be equal to that of a fire fighter.

You must find time to fulfil all necessary duties, even if other tasks must be carried out an a daily basis, such as full time paid employment, and the full management of your place of residence.

Nature is a funny thing, it makes the miracle that is a baby, but with only the bad stuff already hard wired into the brain. All the good stuff has to be formed, the synapses have to be fired up with love. Empathy, kindness, thoughtful-ness, giving, caring, loving, forgiveness, understanding, an open mind etc…All these qualities are missing from the brain of a child. They are only given distrust, fear, aggression and anger as a base point. So every single time another person has shown you some compassion in your life; through being kind, empathic, forgiving etc, they were most probably only able to offer you this because of their ‘Mother’…Whom, on top of fulfilling the above gargantuan job description, made them building blocks of social survival. And ultimately, they ‘under-write’ the happiness of us all, through the good bits they instill into our grey matter.

So next time you walk down the street and see two people laughing. Next time you see the smallest slice of kindness passed between two people. Next time you see a child playing and laughing. Next time you hear of a hero. Know that it is highly likely that a Mother is the very reason behind every one of these beautiful ‘happenings’…

You are the wondrous, selfless, silent, every day heroes of humanity. How you have come to be viewed as anything less is a mystery to me!!

And to my mother, you are my everything, and the most wonderful person I’ve ever known and will ever know. Thank-you for being everything we ever needed and so much more. I love you Mutti 😉 and I’m forever in your debt…for all that you instilled in my grey bits with your love.

About Littlebeut333

'Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange mind’… Hello all :) I’m Dawny, the littlest of the Beuts..and my brain spillage content varies from the profoundly philosophical, to utter bilge ://…Life is my inspiration. I write about friends, love, the soul, society, shrinks, people, labels, home, mothers, perfect moments, dirty politicians, music, pain, beauty, women, religion, god, mental health, the demise of humanity!!! etc…hence the ‘random’. All spilled through the eye of my ‘ever musing, slightly philosophical mind’. Although I write mostly for enjoyment, and to empty my oh so busy head; sharing my snippets appeals to me, and I also love reading the thought trails of others. I would be most chuffed if anyone comes across my page and has a browse (and if you do, thanks in advance). I guess the biggest compliment would be if, for you, my rambles are either :- slightly different from the norm, enjoyable, amusing, unenjoyable, and/or thought/emotion provoking. Whatever them thoughts or emotions might be…The good, the bad, the ugly..and everything in between!! ;)… I accidently fell in love with writing a while ago, and from that time, my inspiration has come solely from lifes varied encounters, feelings, knowledge, memories and thoughts. Welcome to my archives, to some sections of my mind :0 Dawny

12 responses

  1. Pingback: Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange Mind :)

  2. thats not what i think had a batty moment lol. think your brilliant dawn whoops love you
    really i do dawny batty batty me, never mind make you laugh i have a achieved a day task.
    Guess what. what do you get if you crossed a jumper and a sheep woolly shepherd lol

  3. Dearest dawny.

    How ever i feel baby i feel for you on a daily basis, people can say they are depressed, they don’t know half of it, since depression can be many levels, boredom breeds to letting aid to the devil, working and exercising makes you breath God’s clean air, and look around the country and see the many things that God has given us. Amongst them of importance is mothers. Your right about change of attitudes in children of your family, as far the childs are only around to screw Mummy’s and Daddy’s money, used the mother’s and don’t care about the consequences, respect for me is zero, and to be honest although my brood says they don’t take me for granted my word they do, and have done for years. solely because i have no backing from ralph, if i had a man to aruge for me maybe i would be better off, they do whatever they like when they like and really don’t care if this is my home or not.

    who would be married with kids booooooooooooooooooooo hooooooooooooooooo!

    oh well the subject about your mother, she will always be my special wonderful caring sweet friend, and i am so proud to have her this far, we have never had disagreements, we even now finish each other sentences, sisters out of a different family but still very unique, through the time scale of putting up with each other for so long. Pat is so hard to get on with lol. not
    I love you dawny and theresa and leigh, all very much part of my heart, and always will be
    take care my baby girl chin up and look forward for a good smacking on the leg when i see you, comment about the cheese, you wait young lady you will be clotted cheese, after i finished with you. lol
    kick up the bum and lots of kisses and hugs love you dawny love you loads.
    bye for now thank you for the heart felt message to me xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  4. Glynis, I have come to realise since sept, that we have a affinity that most others cannot translate with the greatest loon dictionary available. I love you and reading about how you feel about Mum was sooo touching and you roll me up and warm my cockles equally. Your friendship is something to aspire to in my life lists. I’m so sorry you were having a dark time, but also glad that my snippet lifted you up, never forget the wonder of ze mother in you. And Glynis, I was bloody hideous to my mother for years, but things change always always, and your kids will wake up one day and see the magic in front of them, and truth is, I bet they already do but they dont know the words yet. And no-one ever said Love was easy, but we kids and parents do our best at being the imperfect little beasts that we are 🙂 Keep smiling, your xmas card still makes me roar daily, it is a treasured piece for my lifes emeories box you crazy little loon of joy! 🙂 Love Dawny xxx

  5. Ahhh Faye, Thank-you darling, i’m not sure your right, I think I just talk so much, due to odds, I occassionally slam out a gem lol. 🙂 Not forgetting yourself, here here for all the fabs Mums in our family. In light of my article, your all mini gods already. Thanks again for commenting Faye and for your sweet words and I love you too xxx

  6. Hey dear cuz, Mum told me that this is you Kel, and it really made my day to hear from you, I hope your ok luv, and being the mushy old thing that I am, I’m really touched that you feel like that about me; also, no-one can accuse you of not facing up to alot of lifes shit too. I’ve been talking about Grandad and Ian all weekend, and bout him teaching the boys to say “Have a fucking shitty day” in Nigeria, and surfing on mums ironing board. I miss him so much mate, and you and Little Ian, and I hope you and me make it to the next knees up cos it’s been too long. Love you xxx

  7. spot on dawny , your mind is a mysterious treasure chest , you are undoubtably an exceptional talent!!!! , i wish my words came out as yours do , your mum , and all others are indeed national treasures , we love em all and we all love you xxxxxxx

  8. Dawn you have uplifted me in my darkness hours darling thank you for your words and the respect and the huge appreciation you have for mothers everywhere, i love you, that is without saying, Yes i agree all you have said about your mum there is no arugement from me here, she is one of a million who does things endlessly for her children and will do until she can’t do no more. I love your mum for so long now, unfortuntely distance separates us being together as much as i would like, although i phone her on a regular basis, she got to know me through many years, dawny she is stuck with me i am glued to her with super glue, nothing but nothing will separate my love i have for your special adoreable loving and caring mum.

    Words I am afraid can’t extend how much I love her, maybe the depth the width the excess wonder of the ocean as it comes and rushes to the shore, on tides. the wonder of motherhood is one of those, and we are all blessed to have the priviledge to have one. For some they don’t realise until its too late. But
    with you my sweet girl you have given her the reward of thanks which carries love and true heart feelings to one that deserves the regonisation if any one does.
    you are in the minority that think the way you do, Its a gift you have, and words are special when they are wrote with so much feeling, thank you dawny
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  9. you always have a way with words and although we dont speak or see each other very often i am proud of you for fighting what ever is thrown at you love you lots cuz xxx

  10. Hey Lil Trissus! lol on bravo and all that jazz 🙂 and thankyou muchly big sister, i’m proud that you think my drivvvles are of bravo stylee attention. Now get your own blog going you funny witty clever expressive lil soul. Also, I’m unbelieveably proud of you toooo, for the Mum and the person you are…love ya

    and Mother Foulger! as you are officially the most spandangaly mother of them all, i’m touched and honoured that you think my insight is accurate…and only you could sum up your complete selflessness as only ‘some sacrifice’. I can only say i’m glad were worth it and that you’re adored Mum. By squllions of peeps…Love ya muchly and thanks for commenting.

  11. this is an amazing insight into the gift of motherhood certainly some sacrifice is called for but it is nothing compared to the pride we feel and the love we recieve from our children I AM SO VERYPROUD love you mumxxx

  12. Dawny you are indeed a wonderful little writer. Been having a lil browse through your page and felt the need to express how proud I am of my clever lil sister. Bravo xxxxxxxxxxxx and all that jazz xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx