‘When oh when’ did Money, ‘Labels’ and Fame make us all Soooo Invisible?

Standard
DSC02968

Image by giginger via Flickr

I am (arguably ;)) a writer, but society does not recognise me as one, because I am in the ‘unpaid writers club’…

I am a chef, but society no longer labels me as such, because presently, I only cook at home…

I was a book-keeper in 2001, now I just have a book-keeping qualification on a piece of paper, but I’m not a book-keeper anymore am I???

I am a song writer, but apparently, success evades me, because my songs are unheard of by the masses…

I am a helpful friend, but society no longer recognises me as one. As I am not an ‘employed’ advocate now…

I am a Green Coat, but society no longer…

I am a Bar Maid, but society no…

I am a Waitress, but society…

I am a Landlady, but…

I am a Manager,…

I am a Factory Worker…

I am an Underwriter…

I am an Accounts Clerk…

I am a Singer…

I am a terrible Musician ;)…

I am an Advocate…

I am a Banking Advisor…

I am a Councillor…

I am a Social Care Worker…

I am a Carer…

I am a Student…

I am an Actress…

And I am of course, on top of this, a PERSON, but society does not recognise me as one, because I am too SMALL an ‘ant’.

I am also a lover, and at times I am a little naughty ;0 (in the eyes of the big authoritative ants anyway), but society does not see this either; as I’m not a sex worker; and I have not been ‘caught’ being ‘naughty’, by the boys in blue or, the various other powers that be…

Funny how the ‘You were bad’ labels stick around like glue (law-breaker, prostitute), unlike the forever disappearing ‘You were good’ tags! (waitress, advocate, singer)

Finally, I am the manager of a badly run B&B, and I make up the entire staff (B&B being the place I call home ;)), but this manager label evades me too…and I served Indian for breakfast this morning! How rude! 😉

Society says I am simply  – White, British, Female, Unemployed, Childless, Single (cos of course your either single or married! Doh…Apparently people don’t have boyfriends and girlfriends anymore!), 32, and Currently Incapacitated…(oh and a ‘possible future political anarchist’ ;))

In summary, I am basically, and ‘unfortunately for society’, currently deemed a ‘more than slightly useless citizen’, but one deserving of ‘burden dole-ite bludging’ never the less, due to my ‘White’ ‘British’ labels only…

That’s it. Total Definition!

When oh when did MONEY and STATUS make so so many people completely invisible? Soooo many labels, yet sooooo much missing, not to mention the vast misrepresentation of us all! They may say ‘I was’…or that we all ‘Were once’…But I AM still all of them things, as you are all of your things.

Don’t let society; or the boys and girls at the top get you down with their definitions. You were, are, and always will be an ‘entire unique person’. Who you ‘were’, who you ‘are’, and who you ‘will be’….they all exist on a loop anyway. Only forms and their categories chop us up into pieces, and leave us with feelings of poor self-worth…

And if the bastards are getting you down; I urge you to get your pen out and write your own

‘I am’ list…

Money doesn’t make the world go round, Money is spinning the world on its ass and breaking it, and us, into shards…slowly but surely… and it’s not a pretty sight! ://

Rant Over 😉

About Littlebeut333

'Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange mind’… Hello all :) I’m Dawny, the littlest of the Beuts..and my brain spillage content varies from the profoundly philosophical, to utter bilge ://…Life is my inspiration. I write about friends, love, the soul, society, shrinks, people, labels, home, mothers, perfect moments, dirty politicians, music, pain, beauty, women, religion, god, mental health, the demise of humanity!!! etc…hence the ‘random’. All spilled through the eye of my ‘ever musing, slightly philosophical mind’. Although I write mostly for enjoyment, and to empty my oh so busy head; sharing my snippets appeals to me, and I also love reading the thought trails of others. I would be most chuffed if anyone comes across my page and has a browse (and if you do, thanks in advance). I guess the biggest compliment would be if, for you, my rambles are either :- slightly different from the norm, enjoyable, amusing, unenjoyable, and/or thought/emotion provoking. Whatever them thoughts or emotions might be…The good, the bad, the ugly..and everything in between!! ;)… I accidently fell in love with writing a while ago, and from that time, my inspiration has come solely from lifes varied encounters, feelings, knowledge, memories and thoughts. Welcome to my archives, to some sections of my mind :0 Dawny

6 responses

  1. Hey Pissy Kitty! Great points :), especially about your children/children, it must be worse being stuck in boxes, when your too young to know which one’s you really belong in!…Its strange, as the more labels we get, the less clarity we get! Yet that is their sole purpose! And they do my ‘pickle in’ too, but I think they could actually be helpful, if not handed out by morons with no connections to real people as people! ;/. I’m really flattered that you defined it as authentic! Real compliment..thank-you. Oh and lol re the ‘whoop ass’ and the ‘I am a Bitch’…Bloody rolled me up ;)! Crazy Pissy Kitty! Dawny 🙂

  2. Hi Jessica, Thanks soooo much for your lovely comments. I appreciate your kind words muchly 🙂 and i’m chuffed that you got some new info from it, i’m sure now you know this, you’ll inadvertantly notice the plethora of labels you’ve had, lost and not lost so easily! Not to mention everyone else’s good and bad tags! Ironic that they are suppossed to help define us further ay! 😉 Thanks again for stopping by and commenting! Dawny xxx

  3. Okay, I had to pop by and check out what was going on in your blog. I saw this little ditty and had to read it, as I myself have fumed over labels my whole life. Labels on me, labels on my friends, labels on the income class I fall in, labels, labels, labels. I can ‘deal’ with them when I’ve had to, but the ones I’ve had problems with were labels placed on my kids. I think the school system especially tries to pigeon-hole our children, and did they get a bad case of ‘whoop-ass’ come their way when they tried to label mine. Nope! Not gonna happen! I am my children’s biggest advocate…though there be flaws and all.
    Very authentic post, and now I have to sit down and write my own ‘I am’ list. Hmm… I am…. A Bitch. There, I think it’s complete now, and the rest is self-explanatory! 😉 Have a good one.

  4. Great Post Dawny, and a very enjoyable read. I loved the part about how the bad labels stick around while the good labels simply disappear – so true! I’ve never really noticed this… thank-you for sharing!
    x