Daily Archives: March 26, 2012

Handbags and Kitchen Sinks – Anyone need an ashtray? ;)

Image

These are some of the items I have found in my handbag, whilst searching for my purse at multiple tills

An ashtray with 7 butts in it, miraculously, it stayed the right way up all the way from my home to the cafe, and the bags contents escaped a messy ‘ashing’

The digi-box remote

The MASSIVE silver TV remote

A thick winter knee length red sparkly sock

The cats box of treats – whiskas temptations chicken and cheese flavour

A food bag with ham in it!

My large bottle/tube of cocoa butter

These are the items that have been missing from my handbag whilst searching for my purse at multiple tills Read the rest of this entry

More Bilge on 3,33 and 333! (Lucky you ;))

Status

crap

Update…

In the 3rd week of the 3rd month of the year (and of the spangly 33rd year of my little life)… the number of hits to my page hit 5,333

The categories on my page, from my blogs birthday to its first birthday, stood at 30

But this year, the addition of Amy Winehouse, The Archives and Shorts = 33 categories in my 33rd year 🙂

My rent increased from £315 to £333 per month

On the 3rd of the 3rd I thought I had been stood up ;( (poooor Dawny) Read the rest of this entry

Where would we be without memories of our own ‘Special Biddies?’

Video

Nan

When me and my siblings were little; we had a ‘Nanny Green Door and a Nanny Black Door’ (This memory of how we categorised our two Nan’s, warms the cockles of my ‘eart).

Nanny Black door was my idol (minus her alcohol consumption levels).

She was a lush, and a really funny sweet one at that. She drank Holsten Pils lager ‘cos according to Nanny Black Door…“you can drink that if you’re a diabetic, ‘cos all the sugar’s already turned to alcohol” 😉

She was mostly tipsy when we visited, and she never recognised us when we knocked at her door! Which was always a bit odd, but also really funny to all 3 of us.

When we divulged our identity, she used to say the same thing every time, over her shoulder in Bob’s direction (Bob was her 387th ‘live in lover’ 😉 I joke…Bob was maybe my 7th step granddad type figure) … I was blessed in this area, with abundance 😉

Right after we said “Nan, It’s us, Leigh, Theresa and Dawn

She would say

“Ohhhhh Bob, ain’t they grown” and then she called us all Leigh for the remainder of the visit (crazy old coot)  ;0 Read the rest of this entry

My Cry for ze Elderly is staying ‘sticky’

Image

My new bilge will be coming up underneath the post

Are we ever going to stand up for the elderly? (They need your left click ;))

(because ONE little likey for ze oldies… does NOT pleaseeee the dawnies, or the biddies

Subliminal message – LOOK INTO MY EYES and COMMENT ON OR LIKE the post below 😉 Seriously, what harm can it do? Even if you hate it? Pleeeeeeease peeps, and don’t forget to hop on down the page for new articles of bilge and profound wisdom.

 

(OK you beautiful people that are liking this post, there is a new rule, you HAVE to also like the one under-neath…They are intrinsically linked and both likes are necessary for the development of mankind! 😉

Go TO OLDER POSTS (come on pleeeeeease ;)) and PRESS LIKE!)

I am like a dog with a bone, I know!

Are we ever going to stand up for the elderly? (They need your ‘left click’ ;))

Standard

Hillary Clinton Health care elderly

Possible SOLUTION here in…

Cammy boy has just been on TV talking about the dementia crisis; chanting fluffy objectives and aims at the subject, when really little will be done; his funding offer is a drop in the ocean.

Whose fault is this?

Well it’s half the fault of the policy makers; but WE are mainly to blame.

I bet there is not one person reading this who hasn’t seen at least one documentary on the abuse of the elderly. We all know they die of malnutrition and neglect, whilst in hospitals and care homes.

I will tell you a story that is not easy for me to divulge as I’m so ashamed of the choice I made. I began work for a care agency and my second day was spent in a large care home, I can’t tell you how stressful and horrendous the shift was, I was completely ill prepared and I had to power walk the entire 8 hours, just to get the job done.

This poor lady had an accident. When we went into her room she and everything else was covered in poop. Two of us were sent in to clear it up and she said

“We haven’t got time to bath her; they only have one bath a week”!

Shame (1968 film)

We left the woman with her own excrement under her fingernails; and half baby wiped the shit off the walls.

I couldn’t go back, but I also didn’t do anything to stand up for that poor lady, I wanted to but I knew if I spoke up I wouldn’t get any more shifts, and I had rent to pay. I made a bad choice; the subculture of ‘keeping your mouth shut’ is rife in this industry, and sadly, abuse becomes a necessary normality; when 3 women are responsible for feeding and putting to bed… 49 disabled poorly people!!!

One documentary showed that if you placed all pensioners in prison, and all prisoners in care homes, they would be better-off. I think they stated around 40 extra rights that prisoners have over the elderly…

Our grandparents

Our veterans

Our family

Our people

Sooooooo, I’ve decide whilst writing this, that if I get ooooodles of likes and comments on this post, I’m gonna send it to Cameron and I will keep you posted on his reply (he has to reply to you by law…;) how wonderful)

Red computer mouse

One Click...

And this request extends to the entire world, not just the residents of Britain, we’re all connected anyway and the idea that we all belong to a home land, kind of falls apart if you go back too many years. So this is a call to ALL members of the world (who might land on this post), to stand up for ALL the elderly people IN OUR WORLD!

Let’s save our sweet and deserving ‘biddies’ today, please people?

SOLUTION (dum dum duummmm)

Policy needs to increase the legal minimum ratio of care workers to residents, and all these problems will be freed up to be solved, by workers and managers. IT’S THAT SIMPLE. Without this, things cannot physically change. The training has stepped up, but MORE bodies are needed. IT IS HONESTLY THAT EASY (for a start anyway)

We will be the elderly in a flash and thus far, were a bit of a disgrace to their existence. It’s so easy to ignore what’s not directly under our noses, even our own family ;(

If you like this I urge you to spam it all over ‘social media town’, pretty please… so they can all ‘likey’ too, and please add any comments to the commons if you have owt to say for our elderly.

Please likey (gooooo on ;)) Danke