Are we ever going to stand up for the elderly? (They need your ‘left click’ ;))

Standard

Hillary Clinton Health care elderly

Possible SOLUTION here in…

Cammy boy has just been on TV talking about the dementia crisis; chanting fluffy objectives and aims at the subject, when really little will be done; his funding offer is a drop in the ocean.

Whose fault is this?

Well it’s half the fault of the policy makers; but WE are mainly to blame.

I bet there is not one person reading this who hasn’t seen at least one documentary on the abuse of the elderly. We all know they die of malnutrition and neglect, whilst in hospitals and care homes.

I will tell you a story that is not easy for me to divulge as I’m so ashamed of the choice I made. I began work for a care agency and my second day was spent in a large care home, I can’t tell you how stressful and horrendous the shift was, I was completely ill prepared and I had to power walk the entire 8 hours, just to get the job done.

This poor lady had an accident. When we went into her room she and everything else was covered in poop. Two of us were sent in to clear it up and she said

“We haven’t got time to bath her; they only have one bath a week”!

Shame (1968 film)

We left the woman with her own excrement under her fingernails; and half baby wiped the shit off the walls.

I couldn’t go back, but I also didn’t do anything to stand up for that poor lady, I wanted to but I knew if I spoke up I wouldn’t get any more shifts, and I had rent to pay. I made a bad choice; the subculture of ‘keeping your mouth shut’ is rife in this industry, and sadly, abuse becomes a necessary normality; when 3 women are responsible for feeding and putting to bed… 49 disabled poorly people!!!

One documentary showed that if you placed all pensioners in prison, and all prisoners in care homes, they would be better-off. I think they stated around 40 extra rights that prisoners have over the elderly…

Our grandparents

Our veterans

Our family

Our people

Sooooooo, I’ve decide whilst writing this, that if I get ooooodles of likes and comments on this post, I’m gonna send it to Cameron and I will keep you posted on his reply (he has to reply to you by law…;) how wonderful)

Red computer mouse

One Click...

And this request extends to the entire world, not just the residents of Britain, we’re all connected anyway and the idea that we all belong to a home land, kind of falls apart if you go back too many years. So this is a call to ALL members of the world (who might land on this post), to stand up for ALL the elderly people IN OUR WORLD!

Let’s save our sweet and deserving ‘biddies’ today, please people?

SOLUTION (dum dum duummmm)

Policy needs to increase the legal minimum ratio of care workers to residents, and all these problems will be freed up to be solved, by workers and managers. IT’S THAT SIMPLE. Without this, things cannot physically change. The training has stepped up, but MORE bodies are needed. IT IS HONESTLY THAT EASY (for a start anyway)

We will be the elderly in a flash and thus far, were a bit of a disgrace to their existence. It’s so easy to ignore what’s not directly under our noses, even our own family ;(

If you like this I urge you to spam it all over ‘social media town’, pretty please… so they can all ‘likey’ too, and please add any comments to the commons if you have owt to say for our elderly.

Please likey (gooooo on ;)) Danke

About Littlebeut333

'Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange mind’… Hello all :) I’m Dawny, the littlest of the Beuts..and my brain spillage content varies from the profoundly philosophical, to utter bilge ://…Life is my inspiration. I write about friends, love, the soul, society, shrinks, people, labels, home, mothers, perfect moments, dirty politicians, music, pain, beauty, women, religion, god, mental health, the demise of humanity!!! etc…hence the ‘random’. All spilled through the eye of my ‘ever musing, slightly philosophical mind’. Although I write mostly for enjoyment, and to empty my oh so busy head; sharing my snippets appeals to me, and I also love reading the thought trails of others. I would be most chuffed if anyone comes across my page and has a browse (and if you do, thanks in advance). I guess the biggest compliment would be if, for you, my rambles are either :- slightly different from the norm, enjoyable, amusing, unenjoyable, and/or thought/emotion provoking. Whatever them thoughts or emotions might be…The good, the bad, the ugly..and everything in between!! ;)… I accidently fell in love with writing a while ago, and from that time, my inspiration has come solely from lifes varied encounters, feelings, knowledge, memories and thoughts. Welcome to my archives, to some sections of my mind :0 Dawny

5 responses

  1. Wow 107 and blogging like a 20 year old! You should be proud and THANK-YOU for making the effort to like this, I worked fooooking hard for these likeys here 😉

  2. Pingback: ‘Changing the World’ (and it’s associated Malarkey)… is bloody hard work! ;) « Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange Mind

  3. Pingback: Where would we be without memories of our own ‘Special Biddies?’ « Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange Mind

  4. Yeah! Being 107-years old, it’s about time someone speaks for us!
    The Clown

  5. Pingback: My Cry for ze Elderly is staying ‘sticky’ « Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange Mind