Slowly Does it…all you fellow ‘Crazies!’

Standard

I have never understood how people manage to soak in the bath for a whole hour, without slamming their head on the taps (or something similar), to overcome the sheer unadulterated mind bending boredom of lying still like a corpse underwater!

My baths take approx 8 to 12 minutes, depending on whether or not my leg hair is at a ‘tongable length’, and needs removing

I’m always watching people who seem to be chilled and relaxed most of the time, in the hope I’ll spot a trick to steal, and become less highly strung by copying it. My Mum’s hubby is a prime example of this kinda person, and he’s a very busy guy.

The difference seems to be about speed

He moves at the pace of a slug, no matter what the job, he only knows how to poodle on down

When I attended group therapy, we learnt lots about mindfulness, which is all about ‘being in the now’, noticing the moment, and actively experiencing everything in it. I try to apply this mindset whenever I remember, but as my natural speed is that of ‘Road Runner’, I miss A LOT!

Anyhoo, I’m slowly getting there (no pun intended). I have added a good 2.5-3 minutes to my bath time (yay)… by doing two things

1) I got a bubble bar from Lush.com (I swear it produces the softest bubbles in the world, ever ever ever, they blow Radox outa the water by miles). When I get in the bath now, I lay back onto my cushioned bubble pillow and gently squish them in my hands…it’s surprisingly pleasant and I can manage it for a full minute without getting bored

2) When I lay down to rinse the conditioner from my hair, I spread my fingers far apart and really gently move them through my hair from root to tip (another minute and a half added)

IT ROCKS, it doesn’t even feel like hair, but more like silk! And the underwater element must do something to the strands; the way they separate between my fingers is really quite orgasmic

Today, I managed to add an extra minute, by concentrating on SLOWLY swizzling the soap in my hands, at a less than olympic speed, and the feeling of the bar in my palms was again, quite surprisingly scrummy

Sooooo; 3 minutes down (with the new soap tip) only another 57 to go… and I might be as chilled as ‘Davy Dew Drop’ ze ultra productive yet laid back ‘slug extraordinaire!’

You cannee appreciate anything if you go to fast to even notice you’re doing it!

Every little helps people, I urge you to add 3 minutes of mindfulness to one of your daily tasks, and see if you come out the other side with a chillax’d demeanour!

Good Luck, may your day be enriched by ultra soft bubbles and slow-moving fingers! 🙂 Be a slug!

About Littlebeut333

'Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange mind’… Hello all :) I’m Dawny, the littlest of the Beuts..and my brain spillage content varies from the profoundly philosophical, to utter bilge ://…Life is my inspiration. I write about friends, love, the soul, society, shrinks, people, labels, home, mothers, perfect moments, dirty politicians, music, pain, beauty, women, religion, god, mental health, the demise of humanity!!! etc…hence the ‘random’. All spilled through the eye of my ‘ever musing, slightly philosophical mind’. Although I write mostly for enjoyment, and to empty my oh so busy head; sharing my snippets appeals to me, and I also love reading the thought trails of others. I would be most chuffed if anyone comes across my page and has a browse (and if you do, thanks in advance). I guess the biggest compliment would be if, for you, my rambles are either :- slightly different from the norm, enjoyable, amusing, unenjoyable, and/or thought/emotion provoking. Whatever them thoughts or emotions might be…The good, the bad, the ugly..and everything in between!! ;)… I accidently fell in love with writing a while ago, and from that time, my inspiration has come solely from lifes varied encounters, feelings, knowledge, memories and thoughts. Welcome to my archives, to some sections of my mind :0 Dawny

3 responses »

  1. LOL 🙂 I long for a tan but agreed, it’s akin to the hour long bath, except sand sticks to your wet bits, and no matter how I lay in it, I end up with a red front and back and white sides! Resembling a crab stick…Ta very muchly for commenting :0 Dawny

Leave a Reply

