Our Forever Changing ‘Shadow of Self’ – The Two Wolves

Standard

Twice this week I have come across a quote you’ve probably all heard

“A fight is going on inside me,” said an old man to his son. “It is a terrible fight between two wolves. One wolf is evil. He is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego. The other wolf is good. he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The samwolvese fight is going on inside you.”

The son thought about it for a minute and then asked, “Which wolf will win?” 

The old man replied simply, “The one you feed.”
Wendy Mass, Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life

This got me thinking about a section from the book – ‘Conversations with God’…It basically said that due to the human need for duality (which is required in order to find meaning in this life) God is, and always has been ‘ALL OF IT’.

He (or Life) created on Earth a system including…good and bad, lies and truth, jowolves 3y and pain, morals and anarchy, gluttony and hunger, poverty and riches etc. He (or life) created these opposites so that we may know ourselves, and also re-define ourselves as we change and grow. We do this by relating our traits to the attributes of the 2 wolves

This got me thinking about our shadows

I am scared of my own shadow, and now I know why

Everything I say I’m not, sits right there beside me, in the darkness called my shadow

Controlled always by the light; maybe as some kind of sign that the wolf who is kind, loving and compassionate, will always win out if we choose to live (feed ourselves), in the daylight, with most others?

In darkness, our shadow literally disappears

Yet; the dark wolf does most of his deeds at night; perhaps as a reminder that there is infinitely more to this life, than that we can see with our eyes…When invisible, it is most alive. When seen, it is most dead

I’m scared of my own shadow because it contains everything I think I’m not, at least not by nature anyway…wolves 1

It is a suffocating reminder that it represents half of my being

Even worse is the realisation that the other half of my shadow (the conscious me/my body) is (without the wolves) –  NOTHING! We are indescribable as a something, without these attributes.

Much the same as our auras; our shadows are linked. Walk side by side with a friend and an enemy, and the size of each of your shadows will be exactly the same…

Everything you are not, everything I am not…

Everything we are, but are too afraid to be, sits neatly in our shadow

A stark message that we are all just a tiny distance away from the worst of ourselves…

And, as we cross a busy street and our shadow merges momentarily with a complete stranger and their darkness; in that moment, we are his light and his darkness, and he is ours too.

We are never separate from each other; nature shows us this unity in so many ways, and our shadow gives us both physical and metaphorical awareness of this factwolves 4

Like our good side, our shadow is sometimes large and sometimes small, and it mingles and mixes with any and all. It is visible sometimes, and at other times hidden, much like our tendencies to be bitter and twisted, or loving and giving

Until I embrace my shadow by acknowledging all that lies within it and why, I doubt I will develop the capacity for great change…

The 2 wolves never die

Duality shapes reality

Our shadows content varies over time, but these changes inside of it, can be hidden if the light is just right

Hidden to the eye and to the observer too, but we all know deep down, what really lies beneath beside us

Good luck with your own 2 wolves

Love Dawny Xxx

About Littlebeut333

'Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange mind’… Hello all :) I’m Dawny, the littlest of the Beuts..and my brain spillage content varies from the profoundly philosophical, to utter bilge ://…Life is my inspiration. I write about friends, love, the soul, society, shrinks, people, labels, home, mothers, perfect moments, dirty politicians, music, pain, beauty, women, religion, god, mental health, the demise of humanity!!! etc…hence the ‘random’. All spilled through the eye of my ‘ever musing, slightly philosophical mind’. Although I write mostly for enjoyment, and to empty my oh so busy head; sharing my snippets appeals to me, and I also love reading the thought trails of others. I would be most chuffed if anyone comes across my page and has a browse (and if you do, thanks in advance). I guess the biggest compliment would be if, for you, my rambles are either :- slightly different from the norm, enjoyable, amusing, unenjoyable, and/or thought/emotion provoking. Whatever them thoughts or emotions might be…The good, the bad, the ugly..and everything in between!! ;)… I accidently fell in love with writing a while ago, and from that time, my inspiration has come solely from lifes varied encounters, feelings, knowledge, memories and thoughts. Welcome to my archives, to some sections of my mind :0 Dawny

2 responses »

  1. Hi Rachel,

    Indeed it is not very comfortable, discovering the breadth and width of our less than admirable traits, but worth it personally as it’s really helped me to understand some of my behaviours and beliefs, thanks back at ya for checking out my blog too…Luv Dawny xxx

  2. Nice post 🙂 It is a challenging to be aware of our own inner demons. Thanks for checking out my blog,

Leave a Reply

