I Will Be Your Eyes Until You Can ‘See’ Everything…

Standard

They sat in English class together, paying no attention to the teachers speech, nor to ‘Of Mice and Men’. They were gassing like their lives depended on it!

“What is blue like?” she askedblind

“Blue is running as fast as you can into the waves, it is diving head first into the rushing sea. Blue is freezing cold lips that come from a night out in the snow, or from sucking an ice lolly hard and fast.”

“White?”

“White is the colour of innocence. White is unusual, as it holds all the other colours within it, yet it is almost colorless in appearance. White is a newly fitted, pristine kitchen with a fridge, freezer, washing machine and dishwasher. White is cotton wool, and the grainy texture of the chalk they use for writing on a blackboard”

“Red? What is red like?”

“Red is a boiling hot camp fire on a winter’s night. Red is the colour of passion and of angst. Red is a racy looking lady on a saturday night up town. Red is all lips and kisses. Water is see through and blood is red. When you feel the slight thickness of blood against water, you feel red”

“What are you like?” she asked…smiling

“When I’m being categorised according to my skin colour, I am white, but not like the white I described. I am actually a peachy pinky beige if we’re gonna get a little detailed about it :)”

“When I’m without you I am blue, but not the type of blue we talked about earlier. When we part everyday after school, I am instantly blue. This type of blue gets mentioned when we are sad. I’m sad without you”

“When I see Michael in class, every morning, the same thing happens to me…I am instantly embarrassed (and I have no idea why, except for the fact that I fancy him a lot, and this seems to make me extra shy)…anyway, point is, for a few minutes I am ‘bright red’…but not the red I told you about…This red is more ‘hot pink’, and as you know, this red is warm to the touch…the red flush of embarrassment is a bit like the red heat of a fire”

The weeks lessons pass by, until once again they are sitting together in English and Mrs Patterson is reading the register…

“Can you see any of it in your forehead yet?”blind 2

“I can. I can feel blue now when I run my hands under the tap”

“I can see red when I smell sweet perfume and know a lady has walked past me”

“I can see white when my Mum leaves the dinner table to clean up and heads for the kitchen”

“I can see blue now, when I leave you too, but it’s not like the other blue, I can see that much…It’s a very different picture with this blue in the background”

“I laugh every time I hear the register being called and you whisper white, black, tan and brown after each name is read out. Every time you land on a white one, I see the other white…not like the kitchen, but the peachy one you told me about and somehow, this white is funny in it’s appearance”

“Finally, I can see the other red. Every time my parents fight and my Dad calls my Mum a ‘Horrible Bitch’ I feel so so angry, instantly. I can feel heat on my chest and on my cheeks, but it’s not like the embarrassed cheeks, this one is fierce and explosive and strong…”

“What are my 3 things for tomorrow?”

I think we will stick to colours”

“I would like

Pink

Green

and Brown”blind 1

“And as always, I want the standard description and the other one to follow”

“OK Bossy Pants…I promise by the end of this term, you will be able to see so much, you’ll think you have bigger eyes than me”

“No-one has bigger eyes than you, you’ve already told me about your bulging globes 🙂 Was that the description?”

“Yes, I do believe ‘bulging globes’ was the way I described them. Think yourself lucky, your eyes belong on the kind of woman you see in a red dress”

“I can’t even see out of them, hardly a set of lucky eyes!”

“You haven’t seen mine”

“Was that a crappy joke?”

“No, it’s a saying, but now I think about it, that’s kinda funny”

“Sorry”

“Shut up and let’s go be blue ’til tomorrow”

“Until tomorrow?!”

“Yep. Blue it is”

“Love you”

“Love you too”

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Littlebeut333

'Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange mind’… Hello all :) I’m Dawny, the littlest of the Beuts..and my brain spillage content varies from the profoundly philosophical, to utter bilge ://…Life is my inspiration. I write about friends, love, the soul, society, shrinks, people, labels, home, mothers, perfect moments, dirty politicians, music, pain, beauty, women, religion, god, mental health, the demise of humanity!!! etc…hence the ‘random’. All spilled through the eye of my ‘ever musing, slightly philosophical mind’. Although I write mostly for enjoyment, and to empty my oh so busy head; sharing my snippets appeals to me, and I also love reading the thought trails of others. I would be most chuffed if anyone comes across my page and has a browse (and if you do, thanks in advance). I guess the biggest compliment would be if, for you, my rambles are either :- slightly different from the norm, enjoyable, amusing, unenjoyable, and/or thought/emotion provoking. Whatever them thoughts or emotions might be…The good, the bad, the ugly..and everything in between!! ;)… I accidently fell in love with writing a while ago, and from that time, my inspiration has come solely from lifes varied encounters, feelings, knowledge, memories and thoughts. Welcome to my archives, to some sections of my mind :0 Dawny

Leave a Reply

